We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

NO Recording I

by group A

Prologue 00:34
Out Of Tune 02:37
Worm 03:04
S. 00:34
D. 00:26


(NEW PAGE for NO Recording compilation series are set up, purchase available here: norecording.bandcamp.com/album/no-recording-i)

group A's new charity compilation series "NO Recording" spotlights on over 1000 unreleased tracks, improv sessions and random recordings from our past. In order to act fast to emergency campaigns, fundraisings and people who are in need, the strict "no additional recordings" rule is set and instead challenge ourselves to cook with what we have in our fridge. Requiring no shoppings enable us to serve faster.
Some untouched from the original and some blended into other recordings. Rough edges and unfinishedness are left partially unintentionally; most of the demos and jam sessions were recorded direct to stereo, hence the mixing is limited, and partially intentionally as a part of the process of chance operations (we also just like it rough). This method allows us to practice a new way of composing and finding new sounds by chance, and truly enjoy the unexpected outcome.

Vol.1 mostly focused on demo from our creation period for the multimedia performance piece 'anOther' (Dana Gingras, Sonya Stefan, Mikko Hynninen) which was developed through 2017-2018 and premiered at Agora de la danse, Montréal in April 2018. The whole composition was released on Mannequin Records in May 2020.

On the release day of Juneteenth (June 19th), Bandcamp donate 100% of their share of sales to the NAACP Legal Defense Fund (a racial justice organisation with a long history of effectively enacting change through litigation, advocacy, and public education). All profits we receive from vol.1 will also be donated to them. www.naacpldf.org

We stand with protesters, our brothers and sisters in black community and people of colour. We condemn police brutality and racism, and demand justice for all the victims. We believe in change if we all stand up together. The time is now.

We appreciate it if you consider donating more than €5 if you are able to.
Thank you!


released June 19, 2020

1. Prologue (Recorded in Potsdam, 9.2.2018)
2. Out Of Tune (Recorded in Berlin, 18.11.2017)
3. Worm (Excerpt of a jam session, Berlin, 23.3. 2017)
4. S. (Recorded in Berlin, 18.11.2017)
5. Dance With The Invisible (Recorded in Berlin, 18.11.2017)
6. 笛の練習 (Practicing Flute at Restaurant) (Recorded in Tokyo, 6.7.2012)
7. Puppets Of Reality (Recorded in Belrin, 10.5.2017)
8. D. (Recorded in Berlin, 18.11.2017)
9. Dump With The Invisible (Recorded in Berlin, 18.11.2017)

All tracks recorded by group A
All tracks mixed in June 2020 by group A
Photo by Sonya Stefan
Artwork by group A


all rights reserved



group A Berlin, Germany

Experimental music and performance act based in Berlin/Tokyo

contact / help

Contact group A

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like group A, you may also like: